VDR Unveils Full Roster for 2020

December 31, 2019

We are excited to finally announce our full roster for 2020 (in no particular order):

Jason Thomason (Norwood CC)
Iven Bennett (Norwood CC)
Tristan Saunders (Norwood CC)
Will Golding (Norwood CC)
Matt Hutchinson (Norwood CC)
Daniel Siwek (Whyalla CC)
Lachlan Marshall (Footscray CC)
Rylan Dowdell (Norwood CC)
Curtis Dowdell (Norwood CC)
David Randall (Melbourne Uni CC)

2020 sees many of the same faces that we have grown used to over the past four seasons, and although our list is a little older (and quite a bit taller), we have maintained our focus on giving untested South Australian riders the opportunity to race at the highest level in Australia.

Tristan on his way to taking out the 2020 Super Series.

2019 saw several riders step up considerably, with Rylan claiming a top 10 at the Melbourne to Warrnambool, Jason pushing the pace at Tweed before Tristan finished the year in fine form taking the 2019 Cycling South Australia Super Series and 4th overall at the Tour of King Valley, a race he didn’t even finish in 2018. Although not as apparent on the results sheet, Daniel Siwek continues to make steady progress from the very raw talent out of Whyalla that we picked up two years ago.

We’ve added significant firepower in Curtis Dowdell and Matt Hutchinson, which combined with the already established strength of Iven Bennett should put the team in a very competitive position on a variety of terrains.

Riders leaving:

VDR is as much a family as it is a team, and we always want the best for all of our riders, past or present. As such we wish our two Victorian U19 superstars the best at their new teams (Blake Agnoletto – Inform-Make, Henry Dietze – Subaru-Giant). Both of these riders made a huge amount of progress and we are sad to see them leave. They both have fantastic attitudes on and off the bike and both have the potential to go a long way in the sport.

A slightly younger Ethan at National Capital Tour in 2016

We also say goodbye to some of our local favourites who have decided to move their focus elsewhere. Ethan Egglestone was with us from day one. After seven years as a committed racer, and coming to the end of his uni degree, he has decided to focus on other aspects of his very busy schedule. We are also sad so see Liam Lawlor hang up his national race wheels, with a series of crashes in the past few years denting his motivation to race at a high level. Lachie Darch finished up midway through 2019 to focus on his studies, and we also say goodbye to Mark Sampson after two years on the list where he gathered a considerable number of local results. We expect to see all of these riders still tearing it up on the local scene, with a healthy love of bike riding and racing maintained in all those departing.

As always, we are incrdedibly grateful to our sponsors and supporters who have made 2019 the year that it was, and we’re very excited to get 2020 underway in just over a week! Stay tuned as we drop the last of our major announcements over the coming days.